Venice – A Feast for the Eyes

(First, I owe a debt of gratitude to Open House Group/Go with Oh/OH-Venice for making this trip possible.  This trip (and our apartment) were a dream come true)

My week of wonderment in Venice has come to a close.  Bags were packed, water taxies were taken, planes were boarded, tears were shed.  I arrived home happy to see my family, but saddened by the thought of those left behind.You can read the travel books, study the detailed maps, watch the travel videos and practice Italian phrases, but you can never, ever really prepare for Venice.

For now, it’s too soon for the words to come.  But as the culture shock of returning home gives way, the memories will flow, the thoughts will coalesce, and the words will surely follow.  For now, it’s enough to indulge in a visual feast that is Venice. 

Enjoy.

The Grande Canal – bellisimo

In the Piazza San Marco – a dream come true

Venice in a nutshell – bridges, bell towers, domes, campos and moldering earthtoned walls. Need I say more?

So many beautiful little ristorantes, so little time.

Our favorite neighborhood ristorante – Da Alvise on the Fondament Nove. If you stop by, tell Alesandro and Renalto I said hi.

Now this is the way to shop for groceries.

Santa Maria dei Miracoli

Looking northwest along the Fondamenta Nove

A view inside one of the hospital courtyards

The southwestern facing facade of the hospital. Yes, I said hospital.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara GowithOh
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 04:32:39

    Thank you for the gorgeous shots from Venice! you really captured the spirit of this enchanting city! Next time we´re in Venice, we will be sure to send Alesandro and Renalto all your best 🙂

  2. Does This Blog Post Make My Butt Look Big?
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 09:14:02

    Please do, Sara. Better yet, I’ll meet you there and we can say hi together! 🙂

    And thank you for the kind comments regarding my pictures – I so appreciate it! Of course, it helps to have great material to work with. Every corner of Venice is photogenic. What a magical place, as was Ca’ Elena! How I miss those Venetian glass chandeliers! 🙂

  3. Julie Sheridan
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 06:39:53

    I was there in March, Robin, and it was incredible. Just so different to any other place I’d ever been.

  4. Does This Blog Post Make My Butt Look Big?
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 08:11:50

    Julie, how wonderful!!! Did you stay in Venice? What were your favorite sites/places to visit? We were left speechless by Venice and you are so right, it’s unlike any place I’ve ever been before too. I don’t know about you, but I think I need to take a week and explore it some more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

